The Birthday Boy, or Should We Say Man?

August 12, 1990 - August 12, 2014

August 12, 1990 – August 12, 2014

What can I say? I’m old! 24 is like a big number for a person who live on Earth, don’t you think?

This has been a really interesting life for the past 24 years life of Feby. Need I say more? Of course darling, I’m gonna be telling you all.

Well, since forever as far as I remember, I always got a birthday cake surprise on my birthday. I got even 2 cakes the past 2 years (You know you love me!) but here and then, on D-day of my 24th which might not be that important number but still, it’s a birthday, I was just all by myself without anyone, anyone, once again, anyone to celebrate with. As we all know I’ve been living in the Middle East for the past 10 months and I intentionally did not tell anybody from my workplace about my birthday (personal reason).

Some Birthday Cakes The Past Years

Some Birthday Cakes The Past Years

Bahrain is 4 hours behind Western Indonesia so since 8 PM of August 11th, I got tons of birthday messages already. It continued until the actual day that not just messages, pictures, and videos were also made especially for me. Sweet! But then what did those sweet wishes for if I couldn’t actually celebrate with them? But then again it’s Feby, I don’t wait for the party, I am the party! (Well, at least that’s what the horoscope said).

I took the day off that day since I planned the things I would do on my birthday since a week before. I woke up with dozens of message, including one from my Mom and my sister (God knows I miss my family). I replied all of them and I felt like I was virtually surrounded by many people who cared about me, no matter how far my distance was. I think that was also one of the highlight of my 24 years life that friendship had such a very important role for me socially and professionally. They say friends are like stars, you can’t always see them but you always know that they’re always there. Lucky me, I have much enough stars.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Fancy Box!

Fancy Box!

 

Remembering that I always got some cake every other year, I bought myself one delicious Red Velvet Cupcake from Lola’s Cupcakes the previous day. Put a candle and pour some chocolate chips, voila, there was a self-treat mini cake. And I just finished it in like, 10 seconds. Lola’s Cupcakes was always the best though.

 

 

 

 

Right after, I prepared myself to had another real birthday self-treat. But there was one problem: I wasn’t sure of which I should wear. I got the basic idea of the main look. I didn’t know why but I felt something green. Maybe just because I just had this cool olive green shorts that I really liked. Besides the shorts, the fixed items that I would wear were the boots and tote bag. There were 4 total look that I tried to mix and match and I posted it on path to ask for some friends’ opinion and decide to get a more casual look with a little touch of class.

Casual

Casual

Classy

Classy

Preppy

Preppy

The Final Outfit

The Final Outfit

I headed to Seef Mall area, my most favourite mall in the Kingdom and stopped by in Le Chocolat. It’s a really cool french cafe & restaurant with tons of desserts choice that will make you just wanna stay there forever. Totally heaven on earth. I sat at the far corner where I could seethe whole place entirely, with the scenery of Manama afternoon road on my left. What a beautiful Tuesday afternoon. I stupidly didn’t take some pictures of the place because there were just bunch of people looking at me (I thought maybe because of my shorts were little too short or something. But bitches please, it’s summer and they’re called as shorts for a reason!) and I was suddenly got a little bit uncomfortable of getting more attention by taking pictures. However, I had this picture of the outdoor area from my visit earlier around 2 months ago.

Throwback: Le Chocolat outdoor 2 Months Ago. Was I in Paris or  what?

Throwback: Le Chocolat outdoor 2 Months Ago. Was I in Paris or what?

But now is the most exciting part: The meals!

I chose my meal quite fast actually, I wanted some Garlic Breads for my appetizer and I had been craving for salmon earlier so I knew what to choose for my main dish: Grilled Salmon all the way! I ordered the french authentic creme brulee but to match my green blazer, I ordered this Pistachio Creme Brulee and whispered to the waitress: “can you please write Happy Birthday Feby with it, dear?” She smiled and said yes. Alright alright. Couldn’t wait for it.

When my appetizer arrived, I was surprised that the garlic bread came with the shape of big pizza. There were literally 8 big slices of it and it was definitely not the portion of 1 person, which was great. I had all of them for myself. Yay.

Garlic Bread with Cheese and Virgin Olive Oil

Garlic Bread with Cheese and Virgin Olive Oil

I always love bread, especially with the cheese in it and those breads were delicious. It was not like the best bread in the World, but it was totally fine. I mean, it’s kinda hard to compare things like garlic bread, isn’t it? They just taste the same everywhere for me but this is actually the first time of me having the pizza shaped garlic bread with the pizza dough. It was interesting and I liked it. The thing is it was too big and I couldn’t have more than 3 pieces because I wanted to save same space for my salmon. And also, I couldn’t eat that much if my drink hadn’t arrived yet. That was one thing that kinda bugged me. The drink should always come first when you eat anywhere, but my Iced Tea (yeah, I just ordered a simple Iced Tea!) wasn’t on my table even after they delivered my main course. It was quite upsetting that I needed to ask for it because I definitely didn’t want to start eating without my drink nearby. They finally gave it after around 5 minutes of waiting.

Grilled Salmon, and yes, that little spot bugged me!

Grilled Salmon, and yes, that little spot bugged me!

The Birthday Lunch

The Birthday Lunch

On the other hand, the salmon looked so good. There were just a simple mistake that I thought not supposed to happen. My plate wasn’t clean. No, not because of dirt, there was just this small spot of oil and something like a salmon skin on the plate. This might be alright for other people, but I wished they wiped it before they brought it to the guest. Especially because I wanted to take the picture and the clean plate was more preferred.

The salmon had some vegetables with it: potato, cucumber, carrot, and long bean. The first slice of my salmon was totally amazing, I really loved the taste of it. The second slice, I dipped it into the sauce. It was just OK. There was nothing wrong about it, I just wished the sauce is a little bit thicker. The vegetables were great too, especially the potato. Another comment was just the carrots were still a little bit hard. Just a little bit softer carrot would be great. I finished all except the sauce and the carrot by the way. This might be weird but as any fish, I loved it’s skin more than the meat (or flesh? which word should I use for fish again?) and I was pretty happy with my salmon skin!

It’s the time for the best part: Dessert!

I told the waiter for my Pistachio to be delivered. But then 3 minutes later, I heard some crowd were singing and there came the whole waiters of the restaurant singing happy birthday while bringing my cake. Oh my God that was so embarrassing for me! I mean, who went to the restaurant all by himself and ordered a birthday cake for himself? That was pathetic, I know! LOL! And then I got this idea. At first I waved at them and said “No…No…!” and they were confused. One of them came to me and asked whether it was a wrong cake or not and I had to act and said: “Oh my God I’m so sorry, I should have told you. It is my cake but I’m not the one who is having a birthday. I just wanna take the picture for my sister’s birthday.” I thought that my acting was convincing enough that they believed and laughed about it. So then they just delivered me the cake without any more singing. LOL.

Pistachio Creme Brulee

Pistachio Creme Brulee

Happy Hippie Birthday!

Happy Hippie Birthday!

The highlight of this restaurants is definitely the cake! It looked so good and tasted even better. I love the smell, and the texture of it as well. I had this called Pistachio Melo-Melo, which was kinda the same thing in Cafe Lilou but I think the one that Le Chocolat had was the champion for the taste but Cafe Lilou had more appetizing look with the chocolate layer with it. I finished it in only around 5 minutes.

Over all, experience in Le Chocolat was always fun. It was like maybe the third time I visited there and their desserts always made me happy. I absolutely will come back for more. After that, I directly headed to Seef Mall just across the street to have self-shopping treat, hunted some discount and got some amazing fashion pieces to myself. Definitely gonna wear them later and post it here.

 

That was some pieces of my lonely 24th birthday experience in the Middle East. Food, Fashion, and Fun all in one. Still couldn’t believe that time flies and I am literally a year away from being a quarter century old. I take this as the new stage which I really need to step up my game, doing something more useful for my life and others. Travel to more places, and making the plan of the whole GCC trip to be true. A lot of things have been achieved, but more things to pursue. Feby is making his mark to the World, bitches!

 

Happy Birthday, Feb!

XXOX.

 

Shorts & Boots: Topman, Belt: Bershka, Tote Bag: Zara, T-Shirt: H&M, Blazer: Pull & Bear, Jumper: Massimo Dutti, Shirt: Azzaro

 

Notes: Unlike any other fashion & food blogs, I didn’t really comfortable of showing me wearing the clothes. I’m a writer, not a model who has that amazing photographer to take my beautiful picture. I didn’t put the price of the food on purpose to make you curious. Come to Le Chocolat by yourself to have your own experience.

Leave a Reply

